On childhood romances

I happened to notice the daily prompt today, on what attracted people to their significant other. It got me thinking – not about what attracted me to Joe so much (because I don’t have a billion years to talk about how awesome that guy is!), but actually about something I was discussing with my siblings the other day.

We were talking about childhood romances (well, more teenage for me), specifically about how those shape who we end up being, romantically, and why we entered into them. It was an interesting debate, especially since I am renowned for just having the worst relationships in adolescence. Yet, in a messed up way, I wouldn’t undo a single one of those.

But I digress!

My first relationship – at least the first that I remember – was when I was 13, with a guy called John. We’d been friends for a while, and eventually he asked me out. At first my reaction was oh hell no, boys are SO icky! 

Eventually though, I took him up on the offer – because even though I wasn’t really into him that way, I was certain I probably would be, if I gave it a go. I felt pressured into having a boyfriend, in part by my friends, and mostly by the homophobic bullying I’d been receiving. What better way to prove to everyone, even myself, that I was actually heterosexual? (Which you want to be when you’re 13 and being bullied. Trust me!)

Months went past, and the bullying didn’t stop. Neither did my feelings towards my same-sex friend, who I’d developed the hugest crush on. But I did care about John, I did have a soft spot for him. He was my defense against the bullying, for starters; I could tell myself they were wrong while ever I was with him. Plus it was nice to have someone around, for a bit of a cuddle and a chat when things were rough – which was every single day at school. He was a bit of an arse, in retrospect, and he wasn’t ‘me’ at all, but he was at least around when I needed him.

Except that time he cheated on me and we broke up. Then he was on their side, telling the whole school I was totally a lesbian. Thanks, John.

After a while, ‘Ben’ came to fill the friend-shaped hole left by John. We weren’t a couple, we were just good friends – he was there for me at the onset of all my mental health problems, and he did make an effort to understand. That didn’t really work out either, as I’m sure you read in the last post! But at least when he asked me to marry him, I knew two very distinct things: he wasn’t my type, and I wasn’t into marriage. That’s valuable information right there.

I had another boyfriend – we got together just as ‘Ben’ and I had our bust-up – and he was a total jerk. He physically pushed me to get his own way (often into things, which hurt like hell), and put enormous emotional pressure on me. He didn’t last long. I built up the courage and ended it as soon as possible – which taught me that I can be courageous and strong when I want to be, and that I’m not the kind of person to put up with other people’s shit. It also taught me that just about anyone can end up in a bad relationship. Guys like him seem wonderful, but under the surface they are actually abusive. I think that made me a bit more compassionate and understanding with other people.

So then I finally plucked up the courage, and dated the girl I’d liked forever. It was actually pretty amazing! I was completely infatuated, at the time; perhaps we weren’t so infatuated with each other as we were with knowing and accepting who we were. While in the end we were too incompatible to make it, I learnt yet another valuable lesson from the experience. I liked girls, and there was nothing wrong with that.

After *quite* a long time, I met Joe and loved him instantly, and we’ve been together since then. He’s so cool. He’s changed me too – in lots of little awesome ways!

But the point is, I took away some important messages from these life experiences – about who I find romantically attractive, and who I don’t; about what I want out of life, and what I don’t; about who I am and what I’m capable of. The people I dated sucked at the time (can’t really blame some of them, they were young and stupid), but they taught me some valuable stuff about me, and shaped the kind of person I am today to an extent. For that you kind of have to thank them.

On childhood romances

7 thoughts on “On childhood romances

  1. […] basicallybeyondbasic.com/2014/04/26/daily-prompt-hes-shes-so-fine/ jitterygt.wordpress.com/2014/04/26/the-lonely-dream-maker/ yorkhull.wordpress.com/2014/04/26/do-we-need-a-significant-other/ asqueezeofbliss.wordpress.com/2011/04/05/its-always-been-about-you/ allthingscuteandbeautiful.wordpress.com/2014/04/26/daily-prompt-being-alone-again/ theflavoredword.com/2014/04/26/red-mustangs-and-et/ lifeconfusions.wordpress.com/2014/04/26/forever-alone/ knowledgeaddiction.wordpress.com/2014/02/14/my-first-crush/ alienorajt.wordpress.com/2014/04/26/eyes-hair-height-looks-daily-prompt/ myjourneyeveryday.wordpress.com/2014/04/26/daily-prompt-hes-so-fine/ raspberrydaydreams.wordpress.com/2014/04/26/hes-shes-so-fine/ cxianliu.wordpress.com/2014/02/14/from-my-heart-with-love/ tnkerr.wordpress.com/2014/04/26/daily-prompt-shes-so-fine/ raevenlywrites.wordpress.com/2014/04/26/daily-prompt-you-look-so-fine/ averildean.wordpress.com/2014/04/26/cartoon-hearts/ thejimmieg.wordpress.com/2014/04/26/fairy-on-pointe/ myrandomthoughts365.wordpress.com/2014/04/26/hes-so-fine/ lifeisgreat0.wordpress.com/2014/04/26/thank-you/ wisskko.wordpress.com/2014/04/26/definitely-voice/ tonkadella.wordpress.com/2014/03/06/pallet-of-colourful-emotions/ angirach.wordpress.com/2014/04/26/the-lightbringer/ kevindeisher.wordpress.com/2014/04/26/293-she-captivated-me/ laurapalmer98.wordpress.com/2014/04/03/childhoodromances/ […]

    1. I’m glad you enjoyed it. I sometimes feel a little nervous posting personal things, so I really appreciate you taking the time to comment, and making me feel a little less so! 🙂

      1. You are very welcome. I have posted some very difficult things as well, but more like a year back. I was very nervous posting them, but I found that it was very cathartic and then, what really made it worth the effort is that there were others who identified with my situations and said that it was a relief to read that I’d gotten through similar difficult times.
        Have a great day,
        Easter

Leave a Reply

